Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Can you tell me about the AvaTax upgrade on November 9, 2018?

Overview

You want information about the AvaTax upgrade on November 9, 2018.

 

Environment

AvaTax AvaTax

 

Resolution

  • Why is the Avalara site down for maintenance?

The AvaTax service will be upgraded, improving performance and system reliability.

 

  • What is the date, time and duration of the maintenance?

During the two-hour maintenance window, the AvaTax Service is expected to be down for 3-5 minutes. 

 

See your time zone below: 

Friday, November 9 or Saturday, November 10 (depending on time zone)

  • 9pm - 11pm (US Pacific time)
  • 10pm - 12am (US Mountain time)
  • 11pm - 1am (US Central time) - Friday/Saturday
  • 12am - 2am (US Eastern time) - Saturday
  • 4am - 6am (GMT) - Saturday

 

  • What happens if my customer or I try to calculate tax during this time?

Depending on your integration and development the following could occur:

  • You or your customer may get an error message when trying to calculate
  • Your system may queue the invoice and retry after a certain amount of time (development completed by your team)
  • Your system may revert to a manual rate when it is unable to call AvaTax successfully (a fail-over process your company may have elected to implement)

 

  • What are my options to handle customers if my system tries to call out to AvaTax during the 3-5 minutes of the maintenance window?

Below are suggestions, but please note that this is a business decision made by your company.

  • No action - you are expecting low-to-no calls out to AvaTax during this time
  • Add a message (during the maintenance hours) to your site similar to:  We are upgrading our system at this time. Should you receive an error, please wait a few minutes and try placing your order again.  We apologize for any inconvenience.

 

 

 

  • Was this article helpful?