Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Understanding multi-jurisdictional documents

This article applies to:Avalara CertCapture


If you select more than one exposure zone when validating a document in CertCapture, it becomes a multi-jurisdictional certificate. 

How multi-jurisdictional certificate IDs work

If the document you're validating is a multi-jurisdiction exemption certificate (one form that records a customer's exempt status in more than one jurisdiction), the Certificate ID for the document while you're validating it is the ID that was assigned during upload.

Once you've validated the document, each of the certificate's jurisdictions is assigned a new Certificate ID.

For example, the original document has a Certificate ID of 500:

  • Once you validate the document and indicate that it's multi-jurisdictional, each jurisdiction is stored with a separate Certificate ID.
  • The first jurisdiction keeps the Certificate Id of 500. Other jurisdictions are stored with next sequential Certificate ID number, ie 501, 502, and 503.

How multi-jurisdictional documents work with AvaTax

CertCapture assigns a different certificate ID to each jurisdiction from a multi-jurisdictional certificates, but AvaTax treats the entire multi-jurisdictional certificate as a single document. CertCapture sends the certificate information to AvaTax via a single API call that includes all of the jurisdictions. When there's an error for a single state, it stops the API call from being sent for all of the other states included in the multi-jurisdictional certificate. Resolve this by generating a Failed API Calls report and fixing the issues that lead to the API errors.


  • Was this article helpful?