Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

What provinces are included in the Canada GST/HST return?


You see that some provincial sales tax shows on the Canada country return, but some do not.


Avalara Returns


The Canadian GST/HST is used to report and remit sales and tax that occurred at the federal level and in provinces that implemented the harmonized tax rate. These jurisdictions are:

Province Type PST GST HST Total tax rate Notes
Alberta GST   5%   5%  
British  Columbia GST + PST 7% 5%   12%  
Manitoba GST + PST 7% 5%   12%  
New Brunswick HST     15% 15%  
Newfoundland and Labrador HST     15% 15%  
Northwest Territories GST   5%   5%  
Nova Scotia HST     15% 15%  
Nunavut GST   5%   5%  
Ontario HST     13% 13%  
Prince Edward Island HST     15% 15%  
Quebec GST + *QST *9.975% 5%   14.975%  
Saskatchewan GST + PST 6% 5%   11%  
Yukon GST   5%   5%  

Provinces that require local reporting and remittance to be processed directly through them would be:

  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • Quebec
  • Saskatchewan


When reconciling liabilities, you may run the Sales and Sellers Use Tax Jurisdiction Detail report in AvaTax and omit the sales and tax for BC, MB, QC, and SK.


  • Was this article helpful?