Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Compulsory and Optional Local Jurisdictions in Arizona


I need to know which jurisdictions are compulsory for sales tax calculation and which are optional in the state of Arizona


Admin Console


  • In the admin console- click on the Organization Tab

  • Under organization click on Nexus Jurisdictions

  • Then click on Select jurisdictions to right of United States

  • Then click on Select Jurisdictions to right of Arizona

  • On that page you will see Compulsory Local Jurisdictions near the top of the page- click on view jurisdictions to see where AvaTax calc will go ahead and apply tax for transactions in those jurisdictions

  • Beneath that you will see Optional Local Jurisdictions where you can either chose between Selective (you select and maintain) or All.

  • Was this article helpful?