Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Deactivate a company when you stop filing their returns

This article applies to:Avalara Returns for Accountants

When your firm stops filing returns for a company, make sure to deactivate the company in Returns for Accountants. This prevents new Filing tasks from being prepared for the company, which means you won't need to prepare or file their returns.

Steps

  1. In Returns for Accountants, select Settings > Companies.
  2. Use the Filters pane to find company you want to deactivate.
  3. Find the company you want to deactivate, then select ⋮ > Edit status.
  4. Select a status of InactiveNo reporting, or Not yet filing.
  5. Select Update.
    The company is now deactivated.

If you ever need to start filing returns for the company again, make sure to activate it and update the scheduled return details.

  • Was this article helpful?