Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Multijurisdictional certificates

This article applies to:Exemption Certificate Management Pro

When validating a certificate in ECM, if you select more than one region covered by the certificate then it becomes a multijurisdictional certificate. 

How multijurisdictional certificate IDs work?

If the certificate you're validating is a multijurisdictional exemption certificate (one form that records a customer's exempt status in more than one jurisdiction), the Certificate ID for the certificate while you're validating it is the ID that was assigned during upload.

Once you've validated the certificate, each of the certificate's jurisdictions is assigned a new Certificate ID.

For example, the original document has a Certificate ID of 500:

  • Once you validate the document and indicate that it's multijurisdictional, each jurisdiction is stored with a separate Certificate ID.
  • The first jurisdiction keeps the Certificate Id of 500. Other jurisdictions are stored with next sequential Certificate ID number, ie 501, 502, and 503.

Usage considerations

Each state or region counts against your usage.

What happens when you delete a multijurisdictional certificate?

All the certificates from the multijurisdiction are deleted.


ECM supports one exemption reason per document. ECM doesn't support applying multiple exemption reasons to multiple states through one multijurisdictional certificate.

If you need to apply multiple exemption reasons to multiple states and exposure zones, upload a new document for each exemption reason.

How multijurisdictional documents work with AvaTax

ECM assigns a different certificate ID to each jurisdiction from a multijurisdictional certificates, but ECM treats the entire multijurisdictional certificate as a single document. ECM sends the certificate information to AvaTax via a single API call that includes all of the jurisdictions. When there's an error for a single state, it stops the API call from being sent for all of the other states included in the multijurisdictional certificate. Resolve this by generating a Failed API Calls report and fixing the issues that lead to the API errors.

Multijurisdictional documents in the history tab when queuing an API call 

If a document is part of a multi-jurisdiction certificate, the API call history will be under the main certificate (typically the first or last state in alphabetical order).

Go to Details Associated Multi-Jurisdictional Certificates and then click on first one in list and to review its history tab. If the primary certificate is no longer the first alphabetically, you must find it by using search.


  • Was this article helpful?