Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

States with no sales tax

This article applies to:AvaTax

There are five states in the United States that do not have a statewide sales tax: Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon (sometimes called the NOMAD states).

States with no statewide sales tax

  • New Hampshire
  • Oregon
    There is no sales tax in Oregon, but there is a bicycle excise tax in the state.
  • Montana
  • Alaska
    There is no statewide general sales tax in Alaska, but certain local jurisdictions impose local sales tax.
  • Delaware
  • Was this article helpful?