Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Add a user and set permissions

This article applies to:AvaTax

Invite someone else to help set up your company profile or update your Avalara account. Or, let them view information only. Being able to give others access and assign permission levels gives you the flexibility to share your information the way that works best for your business.

Before you begin

Have this information ready—the name and email address of the person you want to invite and a username for that person. 

Steps

  1. In Avalara, go to Settings > Users. 
  2. Select Add a User.
  3. Enter the person's name, email address, and user name.
    The username must be unique, but the name and email address can be shared by multiple users. 
  4. Decide what the person can access. 
    • Select Account to give them access to everything within your account, including all companies, child companies, and settings.
    • Select Company to give them access to everything within a company, including child companies.
  5. Decide how much they can do with their access.
    • Choose Read-only Access to let them view account or company information, but not change anything. 
      • A user with account-level read-only permissions can see past payments, payment methods, current billing contacts, and autopay status, but cannot make changes.
      • A user with company-level read-only permissions can run reports and view transaction data, but cannot make changes to information that's already in Avalara. 
    • Choose Administrator to let them view and make changes to account or company information.
      • A user with account-level administrator permissions can submit payments, add or delete payment methods, update billing contacts, and manage autopay enrollment.
      • A user with company-level administrator permissions can edit transactions and other information, and change important company settings.
  6. Select Add and Send Invite.
     

Avalara sends an email inviting the person to create a password and start using Avalara. If the invitation expires, reset the password

Tip icon You can change user settings at any time. Select Details next to a person's name to remove access. Or, select the Trash icon to remove access to your company.
  • Was this article helpful?