Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Delete Transactions and Tax Sessions

This article applies to:Avalara Excise

 

This document applies to all license types.  Content last updated 12/1/2016. 
Help Center documentation is confidential and proprietary to Avalara clients.

All transactions for a single session can be deleted from the tax session grid. Tax sessions may also be deleted from the grid.  

Check the session information carefully before deleting a transaction set or a tax session.   

Delete all transactions

Tax sessions must be unfiled before transactions can be deleted.

  1. Click the tax session row.
  2. Click Delete All Transactions.
  3. Review the information to confirm you want to delete it, then click Delete All.
  4. You will see the message 'All transactions were marked for deletion'.
  5. Close the Delete All Transactions window.
  6. It may take a few minutes for the operation to complete, especially if there is a large number of transactions.

Delete business entities and locations added during import

After you have deleted transactions associated with a tax session, you may also want to remove unlocked business entities or locations that were added during the import process. There are 2 ways to do this:

  1. Filter business entities or locations on the columns that identify the newly created, unlocked entries.  For example, a combination of Entity Created Date, Entity Created By, Custom Id Code and delete each business entity or location individually.
    • Locations may be sorted by locked date.
    • Business Entities can have multiple accounts under them in locked or unlocked status, and cannot be sorted by locked date.
  2. Use the mass delete option in the lower left menu of the business entity or locations grid.  This method will delete ALL unlocked entries.  Use caution with this option, so you don't inadvertently delete entries added that are used by multiple tax returns.
    • Click Maintenance > Business Entities or Locations.
    • Click the dropdown in the lower left corner and select Delete all unlocked.
    • Click Submit
      SnagIt0181.jpg
    • Read the warning, and confirm whether you want to delete all unlocked after considering the impact.  
      • This will delete all shared entities that are unlocked and may be associated with other returns in addition to the current return.  This operation is not tied to a single return.

    • Click Submit.  The box will display the warning for business entities or locations, whichever applies.

Marking your tax session as 'filed' when it is completed will ensure that business entities and locations associated with the return are locked and cannot be inadvertently deleted.  Click here for information on filing tax sessions.

Delete a tax session

A tax session may be deleted if it's no longer needed or has been created in error.  Deleting a tax session also deletes any schedule transactions it contains.

  1. Unfiled the tax return session.
  2. Click the tax session row.
  3. Click Delete Tax Session.
  4. Verify the session information in the display window.
  5. Click Delete Session.
  6. You will see the message 'Tax session was marked for deletion'.
  7. It may take a few minutes for the operation to complete, especially if there is a large number of transactions in the session.
  8. Multiple sequences for the same return must be deleted one at a time, beginning with the highest number.
    • Example: You have sequence 0 (original) plus 2 amended sequences, and need to delete all of them.
      • Delete unfiled sequence 2
      • Unfile sequence 1
      • Delete sequence 1
      • Unfile sequence 0
      • Delete sequence 0

 

excisehelpcenter@avalara.com

  • Was this article helpful?