Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

User Administration

This article applies to:Excise

 

This document applies to all license types.  Content last updated 9/27/2019.
Help Center documentation is confidential and proprietary to Avalara clients.
 

► A WalkMe tutorial is available for this topic.

Every customer should have 2 administrators who create and manage your user accounts in Admin > User List.

Administrators can:

  • Create user accounts

  • Enable, disable and change user accounts

  • Reset passwords
    Tip: Click Password Assistance on the sign in page if you forgot your password

You cannot update your own user account in Admin > User List.

Customer Support does not manage user accounts.

Keep your account active and enabled

  1. Every 60 minutes, take some action to prevent an inactivity sign out.
    • Data that has already been saved is not affected when you're signed out.
    • Actions that are in progress are not saved.
  2. Change your password at least every 60 days
    • After 60 days and before 180 days, you can use Password Assistance on the sign in page to reset your password
    • You will be emailed a change password reminder 14 days, 10, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 day before expiration
  3. Sign in at least every 180 days to keep your account enabled.
  4. Use Password Assistance to reset your password before the 5th try to sign in (each try within 10 minutes). After 5 tries, your user account will be disabled.

If your account is disabled, ask one of your administrators to enable your account & reset your password.

Create user accounts - administrators only

Choose a user name that: 

  • Is 3 to 128 characters long
  • Uses any of these characters:
    • Upper and lower case letters including international characters like ä ô ñ
    • Numbers
    • Special characters: ! @ # $ % ^ & * ( ) - _ + = [ ] { } plus space
    • Note: Special characters can't begin or end a user name.
  • Is unique in Avalara Excise
    • You can't view user names outside your company so try one and the system will warn you if it's already in use.
    • Email addresses can be entered as a user name but keep in mind that user names:
      • Can be disabled and new user names created.
      • Can't be deleted or renamed.
  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click Add New Record
  3. Enter the user name and email address.
  4. Enter optional fields as desired
    • Required fields are marked by a red asterisk.
    • Alternate ID is unused.
  5. For All Jurisdictions, choose one of the following:
    • Set per Company - choices can be made after the user has been created
    • None All - the user can't see data in any of your companies
    • View All - the user can view all your companies' data within the limits of their Role
    • Edit All - the user can view and edit all of your companies' data within the limits of their Role
  6. Choose one of your companies from the drop-down list.
    • You can add more companies after the user is created.
  7. Select a Role and click the Next button.
  8. Click Message approved for sending
    • Don't change the message - it has everything the user needs to login.
  9. Click the Create New User button to create the account and email the user. 

You may also want to manage the user's Companies access or Jurisdictions access.

Manage user accounts - administrators only

Enable and Unlock an account and Reset a user's password

If you forgot your password, click the Password Assistance link on the Welcome (sign in) screen.

If you know your password and want to reset it, go to Admin > Change Password.

User accounts are disabled after 5 sign in attempts with the wrong password. Administrators can also disable user accounts.

  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click the username that you want to manage. (Filters might help.)
  3. Verify that the user's email address is correct.
  4. If the user account is disabled: 
    • Click the Enabled box to select (check) it.
    • Click the Update button.
  5. If the user account is locked: 
    • Click the Unlock User button.
    • Click the Update button.
  6. Click the Reset Password button.
  7. Click Message approved for sending
    • Don't change the message - it has everything the user needs to login.
  8. Click the Send button to complete the reset and email the user.

A temporary password is emailed to the user.
The user must sign in and reset the temporary password within 24 hours.
Note: The new password must not be one of the last 5 used.

Reset a user profile

You cannot reset your own user profile.

If a user has a number of odd display problems and Browser Support and Troubleshooting doesn't help, try resetting the user's profile. A profile reset clears out a user's saved information, including filters and dashboard settings and sets them back to the default.

  1. Have the user sign out.
  2. Click Admin > User List.
  3. Click the username that you want to manage. (Filters might help.)
  4. Click the Reset Profile button.
  5. The user can now sign in and save their settings again.

Disable a user account

Disabling a user account prevents the user from signing in or using the Password Assistance button to reset their own password.

When disabling a user account, you may want to add a brief comment in the Title, to prevent unintended enabling.

  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click the username that you want to manage. (Filters might help.)
  3. Click the Enabled box to clear (un-check) it.
  4. Click the Update button.

Companies access

You cannot update your own user account.

If your business has more than one company, you can grant or remove a user's access to other companies.

  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click the username that you want to manage. (Filters might help.)
  3. Click the Companies tab.
    • Move companies from the left column to the right column to grant access.
    • Move companies from the right column to the left column to remove access.
    • Hover over the arrows between the columns to see their meanings.
      • The first 2 arrows move only selected companies, either left or right.
      • The second 2 arrows move all companies, either left or right.
    • When you've finished moving companies, click the Update button.

The user's Role controls detailed access for all the user's companies.

Jurisdictions access

You cannot update your own user account.

If your business files in more than one jurisdiction, you can grant or remove a user's access to each licensed jurisdiction. Here's an example:

User name Company Country Jurisdiction Access
joan.smith My Distribution Company USA Tennessee, Kentucky View
joan.smith My Transport Company USA US (ExSTARS) Edit
gary.jones My Distribution Company USA Tennessee, Kentucky Edit
gary.jones My Transport Company USA US (ExSTARS) View

 

  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click the username that you want to manage.
  3. Click the Jurisdictions tab.
  4. Scroll through the list and set the user's access level.
  5. When your changes are complete, click the Update button.

 

 

  • Was this article helpful?