Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Excise User Accounts

This article applies to:Excise

 

This site is only for Avalara customers licensed for Returns Excise, AvaTax Excise and Government. 
Documentation of operation, usage and release dates is confidential and proprietary information of Avalara, Inc.
Content last updated: February 12, 2021
 

► A WalkMe tutorial is available for this topic.

Avalara Customer Support creates 1 or 2 Admin (administrator) user accounts for all new customers. Your Admin users then create and manage all authorized users.

First time sign in

  1. Find the email message, "Your Avalara Excise Platform User Account".
    You must complete this within 7 days.
  2. Follow all instructions and prompts, then read the Avalara Service Terms and Conditions, the Acceptable Use Policy available at https://www.avalara.com/legal/acceptable-use and related polices.

All users

Use supported browsers
Current versions of Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Microsoft Edge. Microsoft Internet Explorer 11 is also supported.
After 60 minutes inactive
After 60 minutes without activity, you will be signed out.
Every 60 days
Your password needs to be changed. Reminders will be emailed to you 14 days, 10, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 day before expiration.
Don't share user accounts
Your Admin users can make as many authorized users as your organization needs.
Password change or reset
If you're signed in and want to change it, go to Admin > Change Password.
Forgot your password? Click the Password Assistance link on the Welcome (sign in) page for a reset. Ask your Admin user for help if needed.
Password Assistance did not help
There are 3 possible reasons:
  • More than 4 tries to login failed, each within 10 minutes
  • You have not signed in for 180 days or more
  • Your answer to the Security Question was wrong

Contact your Admin user for help.

Update your email address
If your email address should change, click Admin > User Profile, enter your password and Unlock Profile to correct it.

The Excise username menu is available from every page, in the upper right corner.

Admin users only

Always maintain 2 or more Admin users. Your Admin users:

  • Can help users when Password Assistance cannot (see above)
  • Can create and manage as many authorized users as your organization needs
  • Can not modify their own user account

Enable, Unlock or Reset Password for a user

Tip: You cannot modify your own user account in Admin > User List.

Tips to share with your users:

  • If you forgot your password, click the Password Assistance link on the Welcome (sign in) screen.
  • If you're signed in and want to change it, go to Admin > Change Password.
  • User accounts are disabled after 5 sign in attempts with the wrong password. Administrators can also disable user accounts.
  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click the username that you want to manage. (Filters might help.)
  3. Verify that the user's Email address is correct.
  4. Click Enabled to select (check) it.
  5. Click Update.
  6. Click Unlock User, if it's seen.
  7. Click Update.
  8. To send a new, temporary password, valid for 24 hours:
    1. Click Reset Password.
    2. Click Message approved for sending.
      Don't change the message - it has everything the user needs to sign in. If necessary, you could add your own notes for the user.
    3. Click Send.

Create a new user account

  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click Add New Record.
    CreateUser.png
  3. Enter the User Id
    1. Length: 3 - 128
    2. A-Z, a-z and 0-9
      Note: Upper and lowercase letters are saved but ignored — Name, NAME, and name are treated the same
    3. International and Special characters like ä ô ñ and ! @ # $ % ^ & * ( ) - _ + = [ ] { } and a space can also be used but not as the first or last character
    4. The User Id must be unique in the Avalara Excise site. For example, if "TaxAnalyst" or "Accountant" is already in use by another customer, you'll get a message to choose another User Id.
  4. First Name, Last Name, Title and  Telephone are optional, and Alternate ID is unused.
  5. Enter the Email address, needed to send first time sign in information, password expiration reminders and similar messages.
  6. For All Jurisdictions, choose one of the following:
    • Set per Company - choices can be made after the user has been created
    • None All - the user can't see data in any of your companies
    • View All - the user can view all your companies' data within the limits of their Role
    • Edit All - the user can view and edit all of your companies' data within the limits of their Role
  7. Company choose one of your companies from the drop-down list.
    Tip: You can add more companies after the user is created.
  8. Select a Role and click Next.
  9. Click Message approved for sending.
    Don't change the message - it has everything the user needs to sign in. If necessary, you could add your own notes for the user.
  10. Click Create New User to email the temporary password and instructions.

Companies access

If your business has more than one company, you can grant or remove a user's access to other companies.

Tip: You cannot modify your own user account in Admin > User List.

  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click the username that you want to manage. (Filters might help.)
  3. Click the Companies tab
  4. Move companies from the left to the right column to give access and right to left to remove.
    There are 3 methods to move companies:
    • Double click a company
    • Drag and drop, one at a time or all selected companies
    • Click an arrow between the columns
      • The first 2 arrows move only selected companies, either right or left.
      • The second 2 arrows move all companies, either right or left.
    • When your changes are complete, click Update.

Reset a user's internal profile settings

Rarely, a user may see unexpected page display problems. If the Browser Support and Troubleshooting page doesn't help, these steps can help.  They will reset internal profile settings to the defaults.

Tip: You cannot modify your own user account in Admin > User List.

  1. Have the user sign out.
  2. Click Admin > User List.
  3. Click the username that you want to manage. (Filters might help.)
  4. Click Reset Profile.

The user can sign in and check the page display.

Disable a user account

Disabling a user account prevents the user from signing in or using Password Assistance to reset their own password.

When disabling a user account, you may want to add a brief comment in the Title, to prevent unintended enabling.

Tip: You cannot modify your own user account in Admin > User List.

  1. Click Admin > User List.
  2. Click the username that you want to manage. (Filters might help.)
  3. Click Enabled to clear (un-check) it.
  4. Click Update.
  • Was this article helpful?