Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Manage Users in AvaTax Update

This article applies to:Avalara AvaTax Update

Give people secure access to AvaTax Update by adding them as users and assigning them to a group.

To add, edit, delete, or export a list of users, go to Settings > Manage Users. Sort the user list by Active or Inactive to see who has access to your AvaTax Update account. Inactive users are still in the list of users, but can't log into AvaTax Update unless they're set to active again.

User access levels and permissions

Use the table below to determine which access level and permissions you want to assign to a particular user.

Access Level

Permissions

Description

Account 

Read-only

Read-only access to all companies in the account

Account 

Administrator

Full access to the account and all companies in the account

Company 

Read-only

Read-only access to a specific company and its child companies, if any

Company 

Administrator

Full access to a specific company and its child companies, if any

Modify users

Edit a user by clicking Details next to their entry on the Users page. You can change their name, email, access level, permissions, and more.

If you want to temporarily deny a user access to AvaTax Update, check the Inactive box in their profile under Status. Inactive users can't log into AvaTax Update or Avalara Account.

  • Was this article helpful?