Skip to main content
Avalara Help Center

Managing Users - Frequently Asked Questions

This article applies to:Avalara AvaTax

 Here are the answers to some of our frequently asked questions about user roles in the Admin Console.

What is the difference between inactive and no access?

A user role of no access prevents the user from logging in to the Admin Console, even if the user is active.

A user set to inactive receives the following informational message upon a log in attempt: "This user has been inactivated, contact your AvaTax account administrator."

Why are some features unavailable?

Access to the Admin Console features depends on the role assigned to a user. For more information, see roles.

Why can I not change a user name or delete a user?

AvaTax maintains a history of user actions for audit purposes. Changing a user name or deleting a user would invalidate this history, and is not allowed.